Yesterday, I waxed on about how I had an appointment with my doctor for a physical and how much I was dreading it. Turned out, that with my husband by my side it really wasn’t that bad. Made the yucky stuff a little easier to hear and talk about.

My cholesterol is HIGH. Not so high that I need medication right now. Dietary changes are definitely in order. More exercise would also be beneficial.

My blood pressure was also a little on the high side. Not as high as at my appointment with another doctor on Monday, but still high. This is not OK. Again, dietary changes and more exercise would be appropriate for handling the situation right now.

No surprise, my BMI (body mass index) is a bit on the high side. I landed in the low end of the obese zone. Not exactly the place I want to be.

I’m getting serious about making some lifestyle changes. I *need* to make better dietary choices. This is not going to be easy. My children are going to lose many of their beloved favorite foods/meals. Mac & Cheese, for one, is no longer going to be a staple in this house. It is going to become a favorite food reserved for special occasions.

After much prayer and debate with myself and discussion with my darling husband. We decided it was time for me to bring up the topic of depression and/or PMDD (pre menstrual dysphoric disorder) with the doctor. I did talk about it some with my OB/GYN last year, he suggested some vitamins and supplements and recommended exercise. I did those things to the best of my ability… no surprise, I came up short. Not for lack of trying… just distracted and unless I was in “that phase”, I didn’t think too much about it. I will hopefully start a medication soon to help with the depression/PMDD. There was fiasco with the prescription being called in to the pharmacy. Will get it fixed on Monday. I decided, finally, that it is in fact OK for me to ask for help – and if that help comes in the form of medication, that’s ok too.

My husband and children deserve to have a wife & mother that is level headed and stable. I’m hoping that with the treatment of these things that my energy will come back and I will feel like “ME” again. *I* have been missing for so long…

